Village Officials

VMA Endorsed

Ray Johnson (Village Trustee)

Ray Johnson was elected as a Village Trustee in April 2003 and came in first out of a field of ten candidates. Re-elected in 2007, he again garnered the most votes of any candidate for Village Trustee.

An Austin Boulevard resident, Mr. Johnson was the only candidate to be endorsed by both the Oak Leaves and the Wednesday Journal in 2003.

Trustee Johnson has had a very positive impact on Village Board goals, objectives and dynamics. His Board assignments have included Citizen Police Oversight, Zoning Board of Appeals, Public Works, Public Safety, the Retail Rehabilitation Grant Committee, Historic Preservation, Plan Commission, Universal Access, and Transportation Commissions. He was an advocate for sub-committees of the Village Board and currently serves on the Personnel and Inter-Governmental committees.

Mr. Johnson also successfully worked with Senator Dick Durbin and advocated on behalf of the Village to restore proposed Community Development Block Grant funds.

He has also worked collaboratively with members of the District 97 Elementary School District and PTOs to support their legislative advocacy work on education funding reform.

A Trustee who does his homework, Mr. Johnson also keeps his career at HSBC — The World’s Local Bank — on track. HSBC, the world’s second largest bank, keeps Mr. Johnson busy during the day as he enters his 28th year of employment and the completion of his 2nd year in the Corporate Affairs department, where he is a Program Manager/AVP for Community Investment and the North America Regional Coordinator for the HSBC Climate Partnership.

Colette Lueck (Village Trustee)

Colette Lueck was first appointed to the Village Board in 2008 before standing for election in April 2009. She is Managing Director for the Illinois Children’s Mental Health Partnership, coordinating statewide efforts to improve mental health services for children and families. Her 20 year career in community health provides skills in project and organizational management, interagency coalition building, and community leadership. She was named Oak Park’s “Volunteer of the Year” in 2006 for her outstanding community service, including Chair of the Oak Park Plan Commission, Chair of the OPRF High School PTO Liason Program, and member of the District 97 Finance Work Group. Colette and her partner have one son, a 2008 graduate of OPRF.

Glenn Brewer (Village Trustee)

Glenn Brewer is a Community Affairs Specialist with the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, focusing on fair lending regulations, community development and reinvestment opportunities, and fair housing law. He has prior experience in real estate and family law. His extensive community service includes his current roles as President of the Board of the Oak Park Regional Housing Center and Treasurer for the Board of Trustees of Unity Temple Unitarian Universalist Congregation. Before moving to Oak Park, he served on the Zoning Board of Appeals and Planning Commission in Bellwood. Glenn and his wife have three children, one in college and two in Oak Park public schools.

Adam Salzman (Village Trustee)

Adam Salzman is a labor and employment attorney specializing in pension and administrative law. He has represented abused minors and adults with disabilities as Assistant Public Guardian in Cook County Public Guardian’s Office. Adam served as the chair of the Universal Access Commission of Oak Park, whose goals include improving Village outreach to residents with disabilities and improving coordination of Village and other services for them. He lives in Northeast Oak Park with his wife and two young daughters.

Bob Tucker (Village Trustee)

Bob Tucker is Corporate General Counsel & Chief Risk Officer of Neighborhood Housing Services of Chicago (NHS), a nonprofit dedicated to affordable housing and improving neighborhoods. He has served as chair and long-time member of Oak Park’s Community Design Commission and chaired the Downtown Oak Park “Superblock” Steering Committee in 2005. He has extensive experience working in municipal finance, development, and housing. Bob is married with two sons, who attend Oak Park and River Forest High School and Longfellow Elementary.

Peter Barber (Village Trustee)

Peter Barber is the newest member of Oak Park’s Board of Trustees. He previously served two terms on the Oak Park Elementary School District 97 board, most recently as the Board President. He is a past member of numerous local and national organizations, including Better Business Bureau of Chicago, Association of National Advertisers, Junior Achievement and the Drake University National Alumni Board. He is a Senior Vice President for Lipman Hearne Inc., a marketing communications agency working exclusively with nonprofit organizations. A 14-year resident of Oak Park and active member of St. Catherine-St. Lucy parish, Barber is married with two daughters.

Theresa Powell (Village Clerk)

Theresa Powell has strong mangement and leadership skills honed in community and professional work. During 13 years in the health insurance industry, she revolutionized her department’s customer service by introducing new technology to streamline processes, make services accessible, and improve efficiency. As an aide U.S. Rep. Abner Mikva, she helped citizens resolve issues with the federal government. Her work with non-profit groups includes Alcuin Montessori, Dominican University, and the Arts and Business Council of Chicago. In Oak Park, she served on the Community Relations Commission and the Board of Health AIDS Committee. A 32-year resident of Oak Park, she was formerly Theresa Wedoff.